View Article
New Commissioner Joins Delaware River and Bay Authority Governing Board; New Jersey Governor Chris Christie Appoints Shirley R. Wilson to the Bi-State Agency
By JSalmon on 07/17/2012:  


New Commissioner Joins Delaware River and Bay Authority Governing Board
New Jersey Governor Chris Christie Appoints Shirley R. Wilson to the Bi-State Agency
(New Castle, DE) Today, the Shirley R. Wilson of Seaville, New Jersey joined the Delaware River and Bay Authority Commission as Vice Chairman James N. Hogan administered the Commission Oath of Office to her prior to the bi-state agency’s monthly meeting. Succeeding Ms. Susan Atkinson DeLanzo, Commissioner Wilson will serve a term that extends to July 1, 2016. She was confirmed by the New Jersey State Senate on June 28.
“I am grateful that Governor Christie nominated me to represent Cape May County and the State of New Jersey as a Commissioner,” Wilson said. “Given its operation of the Cape May - Lewes Ferry and the Cape May Airport, the Authority has a significant impact on the economy of Cape May County. Whether its governance, operations, or economic projects, I am confident that I will be able to make a positive contribution to the Commission’s policy discussions. Together with my fellow Commissioners, I know we can make a difference.”
Ms. Wilson retired from the Lower Cape May Regional School District in 2005 after serving 28 years as a certified school social worker. Prior to her employment with Lower Cape May Regional School District, Ms. Wilson spent nine years as a case manager and social worker for the State of New Jersey. Following her retirement, she took on additional challenges, serving as the acting executive director for the Center for Community Arts from 2008-2009 and as a Cape May County Child Study Team Case Manager for six years. A graduate of Temple University, Commissioner Wilson earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology.
Commissioner Wilson actively participates in numerous civic and community activities, including as a member of the William J. Moore Scholarship Foundation; member of the Concerned Citizens of Whitesboro; member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People in Cape May County; past secretary of the Cape May County Art League; and former 2nd Vice President of the Whitesboro Historical Foundation.
“Ms. Wilson has spent her entire career helping others, particularly the Cape May County community,” Hogan remarked. “I know she will provide valuable insights that will enhance our discussions and deliberations. We’re thrilled to have her as a Commissioner.”
“Given her experiences, talents and knowledge, Commissioner Wilson is a tremendous addition to the Board,” remarked Executive Director Scott A. Green. “Commission service is a significant commitment and we appreciate her willingness to serve the people of New Jersey and Delaware as a board member.”  Green noted that Commissioners do not receive compensation for their service to the agency.           
A founding member of the Center for Community Arts, Ms. Wilson served as the organizations chairperson in 2004. In 1999, Commissioner Wilson co-founded Reunite, a community based organization dedicated to providing positive role models for African American students and a support group to deal with prejudice and racism in Lower Cape May Regional High School.
She also previously served on the Board of Directors of ARC of Cape May County, a national organization dedicated to serving people with mental retardation and developmental disabilities, and past president of the GEMS of Cape May County.
Commissioner Wilson has previously served as a New Jersey Supreme Court Appointee for District I on as a member of Fee Arbitration Committee and Attorney Ethics Committee. She also served on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Commission and as a member of Cape May County’s Human Services Advisory Council.
The Commission is comprised of twelve commissioners - six each from Delaware and New Jersey - who are appointed by their respective Governor.
About the Delaware River and Bay Authority
The Delaware River and Bay Authority, a bi-state governmental agency created by Compact in 1962, owns and operates the Delaware Memorial Bridge, the Cape May- Lewes Ferry, the Three Forts Ferry Crossing and the Salem Business Centre in Carney’s Point Twp., NJ. The Authority also manages corporate and aviation properties through its economic development powers - two airports in New Jersey (Millville Airport and Cape May Airport) and three in Delaware (New Castle Airport, Civil Air Terminal and Delaware Airpark). All agency operating revenues are generated through the bridge, ferry and airport facilities.
Oath of Office:  Shirley R. Wilson of Seaville, NJ (right) is sworn-in as a Delaware River and Bay Authority Commissioner by Vice Chairman James Hogan. Commissioner Ceil Smith is holding the Bible. 

PDF of Press Release