View Article
Delaware River and Bay Authority Commission Reorganizes
By JSalmon on 02/12/2013:  


Delaware River and Bay Authority Commission Reorganizes
Leadership Takes Oath of Office
(New Castle, DE) Today, James N. Hogan of Franklinville, New Jersey, and William E. Lowe, III of Lewes, Delaware, were sworn-in to the leadership posts of Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively at the bi-state agency’s monthly meeting. Hogan and Lowe were unanimously selected to serve in the leadership roles by their fellow Commissioners at the conclusion of last month’s meeting held on January 15, 2013. The leadership posts of Chairman and Vice Chairman rotate between the States of Delaware and New Jersey every two years. 
“I am honored to have been chosen by my fellow commissioners to serve as Chairman of this great bi-state agency,” said Hogan who will be serving his second term as Chairman.  “I want to thank Bill Lowe for his leadership and wisdom during his tenure as Chairman these past two years. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Commission, Executive Director Green and Authority staff as we continually strive to exceed the expectations of our customers and stakeholders.” 
The former Emergency Management Coordinator for the County of Gloucester, Chairman Hogan currently serves as the Gloucester County Clerk, an elected position that he has held since 1998. Mr. Hogan, who attended the prestigious F.B.I. National Academy in Quantico, Virginia, has served in five state, county and local law enforcement agencies during a rewarding 33 year career in law enforcement – including a term as the Gloucester County Sheriff and as Franklin Township Police Chief.
A volunteer fireman, Mr. Hogan’s other community services include serving as former chairman of the Gloucester-Salem District of the Boys Scouts of America; a life member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police; and former member of the Gloucester County Volunteer Center’s Board of Directors. Commissioner Hogan has received numerous awards and honors, including the NAACP Citizen of the Year in 1990; the Gloucester County Prosecutor’s Office Career Recognition Award; and the V.F.W. Distinguished Citizen of the Year in 2000.
Vice Chairman Lowe, a river pilot for the Pilots’ Association of the Bay and River said, “I want to thank my fellow Commissioners for their vote of confidence. While the Authority has evolved over the years, the cooperation and teamwork among Commissioners has always remained a constant. It’s that strong working relationship that makes this agency special.”
“Jim Hogan and Bill Lowe are exceptional leaders and have worked extremely well together these past two years,” said Executive Director Scott Green. “Both State Commission delegations share that same sense of collaboration and cooperation. In the end, every Commissioner is focused on ways to reach consensus for the good of the Authority, its customers and stakeholders.”
The Delaware River and Bay Authority Commission is comprised of twelve members, six each from New Jersey and Delaware. Commissioners are appointed by the governors from their respective states and serve a five-year term without compensation.
About the Delaware River and Bay Authority
The Delaware River and Bay Authority, a bi-state governmental agency created by Compact in 1962, owns and operates the Delaware Memorial Bridge, the Cape May- Lewes Ferry, and the Three Forts Ferry Crossing. The Authority also manages corporate and aviation properties through its economic development powers - two airports in New Jersey (Millville Airport and Cape May Airport) and three in Delaware (New Castle Airport, Civil Air Terminal and Delaware Airpark). All agency operating revenues are generated through the bridge, ferry and airport facilities.
Photo Captions
Hogan_Oath: New Jersey Assemblyman John Burzichelli (D-3) administrators the oath of office to Commissioner Jim Hogan, the Authority’s incoming Chairman, as Commissioner Edward Dorn holds the Bible.
Lowe_Oath: Commissioner Bill Lowe is sworn-in as Vice Chairman of the Authority by New Jersey Assemblyman John Burzichelli (D-3) as Commissioner Edward Dorn holds the Bible.
Group_Oath: Chairman Hogan (far right) and Vice Chairman Lowe (far left) share a light moment with New Jersey Assemblyman John Burzichelli (D-3) (second on the right) and Commissioner Edward Dorn following the oath of office ceremony.

PDF of Press Release