View Article
DRBA Commission Reorganizes; New Leadership Takes Oath of Office
By JSalmon on 02/15/2011:  


DRBA Commission Reorganizes; New Leadership Takes Oath of Office
William E. Lowe, III Elected Chairman; James N. Hogan Selected as Vice Chairman
(New Castle, DE) Today, William E. Lowe, III of Lewes, Delaware, and James N. Hogan of Franklinville, New Jersey, unanimously selected to be Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively at the Delaware River and Bay Authority (DRBA) Commission meeting in January, officially assumed their new duties and responsibilities during the February monthly board meeting. The leadership posts of Chairman and Vice Chairman rotate between the States of Delaware and New Jersey every two years. 
“I am honored to have been chosen by my fellow commissioners to serve as Chairman of this great bi-state agency,” Lowe said.  “I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Commission and Authority staff to make a positive contribution towards addressing the serious issues facing the Delaware River & Bay Authority.  I am confident we can meet the challenges ahead while continuing the spirit of cooperation forged by Chairman Jim Hogan and Vice-Chairman Scott Green.”
Since 1989, Chairman Lowe has worked as a river pilot for the Pilots’ Association of the Bay and River. Lowe is a graduate of the United States Merchant Marine Academy with a bachelors of science in marine transportation and marine engineering. He has also received advanced professional training in ship handling, bridge resource management, and automatic radar piloting aids at the Maritime Institute of Technology and Graduate Studies in Linthicum Heights, Maryland.
The former Emergency Management Coordinator for the County of Gloucester, Vice Chairman Hogan currently serves as the Gloucester County Clerk, an elected position that he has held since 1998. Mr. Hogan, who attended the prestigious F.B.I National Academy in Quantico, Virginia, has enjoyed a rewarding career in law enforcement, serving as the Gloucester County Sheriff, Franklin Township Police Chief, Rutgers University Police Captain and Runnemede Police Officer. He began his career as an investigator with the Division of Alcohol Beverage Control, which is now a division within the New Jersey State Police.
A volunteer fireman, Mr. Hogan’s other community services include serving as former chairman of the Gloucester-Salem District of the Boys Scouts of America; a life member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police; and former member of the Gloucester County Volunteer Center’s Board of Directors. Jim has earned numerous awards and honors, including the NAACP Citizen of the Year in 1990; the Gloucester County Prosecutor’s Office Career Recognition Award; and the V.F.W. Distinguished Citizen of the Year in 2000.
Lowe and Hogan, who are ex-officio members of each Authority committee, also announced the following Committee assignments for the 2011-2012 session:  
Projects: Terri Murphy, Chair; Douglas Van Sant, Vice-Chair; Samuel Lathem; Scott Green; Rev. Edward Dorn; Ceil Smith
Economic Development: Ceil Smith, Chair; Richard Downes, Vice Chair; Gary Traynor; Scott Green; Susan DeLanzo; Rev. Edward Dorn
Personnel & Insurance: Samuel Lathem, Chair; Rev. Edward Dorn, Vice Chair; Gary Traynor; Terri Murphy; Niels Favre; Ceil Smith
Audit & Governance: Ceil Smith, Chair; Richard Downes, Vice Chair; Scott Green; Samuel Lathem; Douglas Van Sant; Rev. Edward Dorn
Budget and Finance: Gary Traynor, Chair; Niels Favre, Vice Chair; Terri Murphy; Richard Downes, Douglas Van Sant; Susan DeLanzo
The Delaware River and Bay Authority Commission is comprised of twelve members, six each from New Jersey and Delaware. Commissioners are appointed by the governors from their respective states and serve a five-year term without compensation. The Delaware River and Bay Authority, a bi-state governmental agency created by Compact in 1962, owns and operates the Delaware Memorial Bridge, Cape May-Lewes Ferry, the Three Forts Ferry Crossing, and the Salem County Business Center. The Authority also manages five regional airport facilities: New Castle, Millville, Cape May, Civil Air Terminal at Dover, and Delaware Airpark.

PDF of News Release